Where it all began

wp-1490053738656.jpg

It was last July and I had just returned from Twitter Math Camp in Minneapolis, Minnesota. If you’ve never heard of TMC, then you’re missing out. It’s a teacher-led, teacher-driven conference that’s attended by teachers from all over world. The experience was unforgettable.

Thankfully, Math for America funded my TMC experience through an Impact Grant. As part of the earning the grant, I was required to capture my experiences and share them with MfA. Eager to share my countless takeaways from the conference and pass on inspiration, I emailed my reflections to Courtney Allison. What she said in her reply blew my mind:

“I’d really like to think about an MƒA conference next summer. It would be great to talk this year about innovative ideas from TMC and other conferences that could be inspiration.”

There it was, the unofficial start of the first-ever MfA summer conference.

That fall, back-and-forth communication between her and I ensued around logistics. An awesome planning committee was formed. A schedule was sketched out. Proposals were submitted. Proposals were accepted. Guest speakers were locked in. And now registration has opened.

It’s been a blur. It feels like just yesterday that Courtney replied to my email with the idea.

Needless to say, I’m very excited. But if I’m honest, I have no idea how this thing is going to turn out. But, like I said, I’m very excited. That matters, right?

Here goes nothing.

-Brian

Leave a Reply

